MOUNT ALLISON UNIVERSITY MEETING OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

May 12, 2022, 4:00pm via Microsoft Teams

Present via remote connections: Bell, A. Beverley, B. Blakney, P. Boudreau (Chair)C. Burke, B. Clayton, A.Comfort, H.Crouse, G. Desmarais, T.-A. Dixon, B. Evans, A. Fancy, S. Fanning, N. Farooqi, D. Fleming, L. Garnett, D. Hamilton, J. Hennessy (Vice hair), R. Inglis, C. Ionescu, K. Johnston, Kalyn, S. Keller, L. Kern, A. Koval, A. Kreuger, L. Landon, R. Lapp, A. Lepage, M. Levesque, D. Lieske, M. Litvak, C. Lovekin, G. MacLeade Stecher, R. Majithia, C. Major, V. Meli, Messinger, N. Milliea, R. MinochamcKenney, R. Moser (Secretary), Mullen, C. Pringle Carver, B. Robertson, S. Runge, E. Steuter, V. St. Pierre, Strain, J. Tomes, N. Vogan, W. Wilson

ObserversP. Berry, Acknowledgement

J-P. Boudreauead the official territorial acknowledgment written by Elders and the Indigenous Advisory Circle as follows:

We would like to acknowledge that we are located within the territorly bf \ N P D \ N L W K H X Q F H G H G D Q F H V W U D O W H U U L W R U \ R I W K H 0 L \ N P D T 2 X U U H this territory was agreed upon in the Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1752. Because of this treaty relationship it is to be acknowledged that we are

Motion carried

03.05.12 Approval of the minutes16 March, 2022)

The Chairthanked the Secretary for his first year in the position

Motion (G. Desmarais/ M. Levesque: that Senate adopt the minutes of the meeting df5 March, 2022 aspresented

Motion carried

04.05.12 Business arising from the minutes

No business arising

The Research and Creative Activities Committee Astrid Krueger SunMin Park

The Scholarships and Bursaries Committee Astrid Krueger

The Senate Agend&Committee Suhjung Chun

The Teaching and Learning Committee
Tannis Nelson
Kaitlyn Keleher

The University Planning Committee Astrid Krueger Kaitlyn Keleher

The Honorary Degrees Committee Evan Jollimore

Motion carried

Motion carried

V. St. Pierre thanked Arts Heads, noting that K. Johnston would take over as WGST program director as L. Kern goes on sabbatical, and tbetveral heads continue in their roles, naming B. Clayton, C. Ionescu, and A. Beverley. V. St. Pierre is looking forward to working with the Social Science & Commerce heads next AY, and hoped N. Farooqi will enjoy a well-served administrative leave. St. Pierre drew attention to the upcoming summer camps in Music, and thanked and congratulated all the people involved in their administration. Thanks to colleagues in the Arts for a great year.

14.05.12 Other business

There was no other business.

15.05.12 Adjournment

The meeting adjourned 1at:33am.

Respectfully submitted,

Robbie Moser Secretary